HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Veganuary 2019: Gousto Chunky Roast Vegetables With Jewelled Couscous

Posted by HelenEdith on February 14, 2019

Gousto Chunky Roast Vegetables With Jewelled Couscous

Gousto Chunky Roast Vegetables With Jewelled Couscous

This was one of my less successful Gousto meals. It looks great here; and I enjoyed the first portion, but when I came to eat the second portion, I couldn’t finish the couscous. I now think that it was the amount of turmeric in the couscous that was at fault. Gousto like turmeric a lot and I have come to the conclusion that I only like it a little. It adds a great yellow colour, but the flavour just isn’t as good as the colour. I could recreate this, but I think I’d use ground coriander rather than ground turmeric in the couscous – and probably not in the quantity that Gousto seem to. It’s funny that Gousto put a warning with things like chilli flakes to go easy if you don’t like your food too spicy hot, but they never warn you about spices that don’t add heat to the food.

Leave a comment