HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Oh no… Retained deciduous teeth

Posted by HelenEdith on January 2, 2010

Monty yawning and showing one of his retained deciduous teeth - an upper canine

The other day, I noticed a mark on Rolo’s fur and wondered if he’d hurt himself, but could find no trace of a wound, so I decided to look at Monty, to see if Monty had anything wrong with his mouth and could have left blood on Rolo. I didn’t find any sore spots inside Monty’s mouth, but what I did find was that his canine teeth were doubled up.

His new adult teeth had come through without his baby teeth falling out! As such teeth are jammed together, this can lead to the adult teeth growing in the wrong direction; and the overcrowding can result in food getting stuck between the teeth, so it is not a good thing.

Monty, along with Rolo, had a 7th January appointment for neutering, and I wondered about delaying it to see if nature would take its course, but in the end, the neutering appointment had to be brought forwards, rather than delayed.

Fortunately, Monty got rid of the excess teeth within a few days of my noticing them, so the vet didn’t have to do anything in his mouth while Monty was under anaesthetic. That was a relief, as I didn’t want to put Monty through an unnecessary dental procedure, but nor did I want to leave the problem untreated and potentially have to subject Monty to a second anaesthetic.

Rolo didn’t, to my knowledge, have any problem at all with his adult teeth. He yawned expansively and showed me his dental arrangements very comprehensively!

Rolo yawning

I wanted to get a picture of Monty’s mouth from that angle, but he just wouldn’t face me to yawn! Rolo has done it a couple of times when I’ve had a camera ready, though.

Leave a Reply

 
