HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

“Do not eat before driving”

Posted by HelenEdith on May 15, 2007

I keep a few nibbles in my drawer at work. Mostly it’s nuts and dried fruit, but I’ve also got a weakness for Sesame Snaps, which I don’t think qualify as either of the above.

Some time ago, I bought rather a big bag of dried figs, but I found that a few figs go a long way and it was taking me a long while to get through the bag, and although they were well within their “use-by” date, they were becoming very sugary on the outside.

Yesterday, I thought that even though they were sugary that they were probably still good and extracted the bag from my bottom drawer, but upon opening it, I decided that as it was only an hour before I was expecting to drive home that maybe I shouldn’t be eating one after all, as the whole bag no longer smelt figgy, but more like brandy!

I offered Dave (who sits at the next desk) a sniff, and he agreed with me.

As they didn’t seem appropriate any longer for office consumption, I brought them home, but I suspect that Stephen has binned them.

2 Responses to ““Do not eat before driving””

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • HelenEdith said

      I don’t have a lot of pointers. I tend to post mainly on Facebook these days as it’s so simple. However a blog is good if you have something to say which is worth revisiting. I definitely believe in tagging my posts so that my visitors can see the cat stuff or the knitting stuff or the photography stuff but don’t have to wade through the whole lot if they don’t care to because they only share some of my interests. I can err on the side of being too verbose sometimes. Keep your posts short enough the keep the interest of your readers. Of course, if you have pictures, they usually add some interest, too.

Leave a Reply

 
