HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Favourite pictures revisited: The Harp Player

Posted by HelenEdith on August 24, 2009

The Harp Player

The Harp Player

I have always liked this picture, which was captured on colour slide film; and thought that I was a fraction hard done by when a camera club judge gave it a mere 7.5/10. 😦 However, that is the way of camera club judges; and putting a picture of stained glass in front of them often does not inspire them to award high marks. Their justification for this is that the photographer is merely recording the work of the stained glass artist and is not being innately creative him- or herself.

This particular piece of stained glass is to be found in a window in the chapel which forms part of Bromley and Sheppard’s Colleges in Bromley, Kent. I visited with the Bromley Camera Club, but it’s also possible to visit most years during London Open House Weekend in September, and possibly at other times as well.

I was blessed with perfect stained glass photography conditions: overcast but bright weather lighting the stained glass perfectly without being too harsh. I zoomed in on the window and rather than photographing the whole window in its original context, I sought an interesting image from within the whole of the stained glass panel. It does mean that my image is somewhat out of context with the original, but I was looking for an interesting image and I think I got one. 🙂

By clicking on the thumbnail below, you can open up a full-sized copy of this image:

The Harp Player

Naturally, this is copyright, so please get in touch if you want to use it commercially. 🙂

I have not yet (and maybe never will) put all of my Bromley College pictures up on my website, but I used this one in a Bromley Camera Club competition and you can see this image in that context on my website here.

Leave a Reply

 
