HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Marlowe Music Week 2009: Tuesday light orchestra rehearsal

Posted by HelenEdith on August 11, 2009

This morning was the one session of Marlow Music Week which is an actual rehearsal for something, rather than being simply a group of musicians sitting down to play purely for their own pleasure. The rehearsal is on account of tomorrow morning’s Coffee Morning, which takes place in the hall of the Holy Redeemer Church in Days Lane Sidcup, and raises funds for that church.

The concert programme consists of light music, and has been carefully chosen this year to reflect a paucity of trombone players. 😦 However, Margaret, my fellow lady bassoonist 🙂 is going to play some of the trombone parts on her bassoon, so the parts will not go uncovered.

Malcolm seems to have an almost unlimited supply of light music filed away at his house and I don’t think I’d seen much of tomorrow’s programme before. He’s got a medley of HMS Pinafore numbers to end the concert, and I had a quick extra look at that before packing up my bassoon and leaving the rehearsal. I did think about bringing the music home and having a look at it this afternoon, but a quick extra look at the end of the rehearsal felt like it had done the trick.

I came home via Sainsbury’s, as I decided that I would like a “compost heap” for my lunch. This is Stephen’s term for a stir-fry, in case you’re wondering! While in the High Street, I also picked up a prescription waiting for me at the pharmacy, and it came with much more paper attached to it than usual. It turns out that I’m taking something which has caused the doctor to require me to have some blood tests so that they can monitor me. I was pleased to see that the thyroid function box was ticked. I’ve got quite a few relatives with thyroid problems, and if I’m going to have a blood test, that’s definitely something I want to have checked!

Oh, and the “compost heap” was lovely. I also bought some white grape and peach juice while I was in Sainsbury’s, and that was lovely and cool with it. I do have to moan though: my diced turkey was 2 for £5 but a lot more than £2.50 for just one tray; and my juice cost 95p but I could have had three cartons for £2.25. I didn’t want three cartons! I have enough wastage in the fridge from not finishing things without going out and buying three in the first place when I only want one. 😡

Leave a Reply

 
