HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Marlowe Music Week 2009: Sunday chamber music

Posted by HelenEdith on August 9, 2009

Marlowe Music Week kicked off today. There was a planning coffee morning this morning which I didn’t get to, but I spent some time at home this afternoon going through my new reeds and adjusting them and making sure I had some that were playable for this evening as I’m not sure that my plastic reed has mellowed enough yet to be up to chamber music. 🙂 Then I went along this evening for the first session of music, which was chamber music at Malcolm and Sheila’s house.

I played wind quintets all evening in the back room upstairs, but we had a change of clarinettist half way through the evening as there were two clarinettists present; and each took a turn with the string group downstairs in the front room. 🙂

The wind quintet music included pieces by Gordon Jacob (Swansea Town), the Bizet Jeux d’Enfants suite arranged for wind quintet, a Mozart Divertimento, and an arrangement of tunes from Fiddler on the Roof. I’d never seen the Mozart or the Fiddler on the Roof arrangement before and it was enjoyable to have some different music on my stand, particularly as both were approachable pieces.

It was a good way to start the music week off, and despite spending a good hour or more working on my reeds this afternoon and then two hours playing this evening, my lips are still alive. It just goes to show that my move last year to soft cane reeds was a good idea. I might put some lip balm on before I go to bed, though, as the lips do need a bit of care while I toughen them up.

Maybe this will be the year that once I’ve got my lip toughened up with a week of concentrated playing that I will then take up regular practice and keep my lip toughened up – plus get some repertoire into a state where I can actually stand up and play it!

Leave a Reply

 
