HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

London Bridge

Posted by HelenEdith on August 2, 2009

When I posted a picture or two of Tower Bridge recently, one of my readers said something about London Bridge and I’ve been meaning to find a picture ever since, and I’ve just come across one that I rather like:

London Bridge lit in red, and No.1 London Bridge on the south side of the Thames

London Bridge lit in red, and No.1 London Bridge on the south side of the Thames

This was taken way back in 2006, but isn’t diminished in any way by that except in pixel count, as it was captured on a 6MP camera rather than my current 10MP camera. 🙂

I would have to go a long way back through my photography to work it out, but one year for Remembrance Sunday a number of London landmarks were lit in red. I don’t think London Bridge ever returned to white light, and here it is, taking up the right hand side of this picture. The building occupying much of the rest of the picture is No.1 London Bridge, which has a wedge missing out of one corner, with just a huge prop going up to where the upper floors are squared.

This picture is published on my website on this page: Helen Stephenson’s Stroll along the Thames (15th March, 2006) where there are two more pictures featuring the red span of London Bridge; a picture of Tower Bridge; and various other pictures taken in the same vicinity along the Thames.

4 Responses to “London Bridge”

  1. Buff said

    Sorry, Helen … the piccy didn’t come up on my computer.

    • HelenEdith said

      I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the piccy – I reckon that you should try again – maybe just hitting “refresh” on your browser will do the trick.

      If you follow the link provided to my website, the piccy is on there, and is about half way down the page.

  2. Buff said

    Gottit! Thank you … what’s at Number 1? Are they apartments/units/flats?

    • HelenEdith said

      No.1 is an office building. I can’t immediately find out who the current tenants are. Next time I walk by, I will have to see if there’s a plate outside. The entrance is actually down a flight of steps from the bridge level, so although I probably walk close to it a couple of time a week, I don’t walk right by the entrance.

Leave a Reply

 
