HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Red Routemaster Bus

Posted by HelenEdith on July 10, 2009

Routemaster bus entering Cannon Street

Routemaster bus entering Cannon Street

I know I’ve got at least one reader who loves the old Routemaster bus. The Routemaster has been banished from most routes in favour of single operator buses which are additionally more disabled-friendly, but some “Heritage” routes are still partly operated by Routemasters; and Route 15 happens to run along Cannon Street, which I walk along most days when I visit The City, so I’m in a position to snap the occasional picture of one of these post-WWII buses which were so well-designed that we still see them on the streets of 21st Century London.

The number plate on this bus puts its year of registration as pre-1963, so she’s got at least 46 years of service behind her – and hopefully many more years ahead allowing tourists (and others 🙂 ) to enjoy the unique experience of boarding at the back of the bus via the platform and paying the conductor for a ticket.

Routemaster bus in Cannon Street with passengers boarding via the rear platform

Routemaster bus in Cannon Street with passengers boarding via the rear platform

6 Responses to “Red Routemaster Bus”

  1. Buff said

    Now, that’s a *proper* London omnibus!! I love the tradition of it. It goes with my idealised vision of London, along with black taxis and red post-boxes with a gold crown on the top. I know they probably don’t exist much any more, but to me they still spell out London.

    • HelenEdith said

      Well we still have black cabs (along with the occasional pink one – and other less surprising colours as well 🙂 – and even some with all-over advertising on them) although the models have changed over the years. I can see that I’m going to have to go cab-spotting and see how many different models I can find. My guess is that I’ll find the latest design, the older common design, and the Metrocab, which was disabled-friendly.

      I don’t think pillar boxes have a gold crown on top. I’ll have to take a proper look next time I pass one!

  2. michael kelm said

    Hi there, just a bit of info for you. This is RM324 which entered service in 1960 and was withdrawn in 1994. It was sold to Halifax in 1997 but was brought back to London in 2000 and refurbished for Route 13 which it worked until October 2005. It was then allocated to Heritage route 15.

  3. Val said

    Wish they would bring them back. Check out this vid http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taxanOKZQvs

    Bring Back…The Routemaster!

    • HelenEdith said

      Isn’t there supposed to be a “New Routemaster” design?

      Of course, it will never be the same as the old ones… I’m lucky enough to walk by The Monument several times a week and I often see them on Route 15, which is one of the “Heritage Routes” served by a mix of Routemasters and disabled-friendly single operator bland buses.

Leave a Reply

 
