HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

A Diagonal Phase

Posted by HelenEdith on July 7, 2009

The fire on the top of The Monument

The fire on the top of The Monument

No, London hasn’t gone into competition with Pisa: I decided to turn my camera so that it was neither horizontal nor vertical when I snapped these pictures.

I’m very pleased with the detail I was able to capture of The Monument. The shake reduction facility on my Pentax K10D does a really excellent job. I’m also pleased with my Sigma 28-300 lens, which I used for the picture above, and which was definitely worth the £50 or thereabouts that it cost me on eBay! I usually go into PhotoShop and apply a little bit of unsharp mask, but haven’t done so with this picture, or it could pop off the screen even more! I might work on it if I decide to put it up on my website later. 🙂

The bell tower of St Magnus the Martyr on Lower Thames Street also got laid diagonally across my viewfinder. I think that photographing St Magnus the Martyr in its entirety is going to be a tricky proposition as it is surrounded by taller buildings, but the bell tower is within easy range of a telephoto lens.

The spire on top of the bell tower of St Magnus the Martyr, Lower Thames Street

The spire on top of the bell tower of St Magnus the Martyr, Lower Thames Street

My Diagonal Phase stayed with me all the way along the north side Thames Path to the Tower of London, where I snapped this street lamp. It could probably do with a bit of a clean, but it’s pretty anyway. 🙂

Street lamp outside the Tower of London

Street lamp outside the Tower of London

2 Responses to “A Diagonal Phase”

  1. Buff said

    These “diagonals” make me feel seasick! LOL

Leave a Reply

 
