HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Book Review: Eloisa James – Much Ado About You

Posted by HelenEdith on June 1, 2009

(Book one of the “Essex sisters” series)

I had already read and enjoyed “Kiss Me Annabel”, which is the second book in the series, and liked that one enough to go back and find the first book. These books are stand-alone enough to be read out of sequence, but it was useful to go back and fill in some gaps – and by reading this one after the second book, I did know what was going to happen in some of the sub-plots.

The Essex sisters have just been placed under the guardianship of the Duke of Holbrook, who has mistakenly assumed that they are still in the nursery. Actually, three of the four are young ladies of marriageable age, and the fourth, while still in the schoolroom, will not remain there for much longer!

Tess, the eldest, needs to marry quickly and well in order to bring out her younger sisters; and she becomes engaged to a friend of the Duke’s, but is jilted at the last moment. Another friend, Lucius Felton, is waiting in the wings, and is prepared to marry Tess instead.

There is also the problem of Tess’s sister Imogen, who is in love with one of the Duke’s neighbours. He, however, is engaged to somebody else! Somebody, it becomes apparent, who would be glad for Imogen to take the gentleman in question off her hands without her having to break the engagement herself, for which there would be grave consequences to her family on account of a mortgage.

This Regency romance did not disappoint, and I will be eagerly scouring the library shelves for the rest of this series.

4 Responses to “Book Review: Eloisa James – Much Ado About You”

  1. Marty said

    Ha! You could trade books with my niece. She likes Eloisa James. I tried one of her books and decided against another one. Not my speed, I guess.

    • HelenEdith said

      Each to their own, I suppose. I enjoy a Regency Romance, although I don’t suppose anything quite measures up to what that mistress of the genre, Georgette Heyer, could produce.

  2. I love regency romance and have a bunch of them. My favorites are Elizabeth Rolls, Amanda Quick, Catherine Coulter, Christina Dodd, Julia London…………..the list just goes on!! Though I had Eloisa James books but never read them. Your review encouraged me to read them. Thanks. I am adding you to my blog list if you don’t mind 😀

    • HelenEdith said

      I’m definitely a fan of Amanda Quick and Catherine Coulter.

      I’m also enjoying a new author called Deneane Clark. She has a blog called Ribbons & Romance here: http://deneaneclark.com/

      That’s great that you’re adding me to your blog list. I should warn you that you will also get blog posts about my cats, thrillers and photography. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
