HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Website Update: Snow Pictures, February 2009

Posted by HelenEdith on March 2, 2009

We had a significant snowfall in London at the beginning of February.

It’s taken me a while, but I’ve finally edited the pictures I took over the course of the first three days of snow disruption, and they are on my website here: Snow, February 2009

Here are a few of the pictures you can find on the page linked above:

Snow_20090201_IMGP5494_raw_ed

This is one of my signature night shots, and was taken with the aid of a tripod, as it was an exposure which ran into seconds. I had to clean up the colour balance in the raw file because the sodium street lighting rendered everything a rather uninteresting orange.

Snow_20090202_IMGP5517_raw_ed_cr_9x10

Here’s the same house the next morning by daylight.

Snow_20090203_IMGP5564_ed

By the time this picture was taken, it was the next day, the sun was out, and one of the cars had been dug out.

Snow_20090203_IMGP5632_ed

There were many snowmen. I even saw one on the roof of a bus shelter! I don’t know how it got up there: maybe there was enough snow up there to build it in-situ. This one was on the footpath of a village street.

You’ll have to visit the link provided if you want to see the rest of my pictures!

Leave a Reply

 
