HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for December 03, 2008 – Routemaster in unusual livery

Posted by HelenEdith on December 3, 2008

As I was walking into the office from Cannon Street this morning, I saw some Routemaster buses. Although they have been generally phased out as they don’t comply with the latest accessibility rules, they still run on some heritage routes, and one of those is the number 15 to Trafalgar Square.

In fact, I saw two Routemasters fairly closely following one another. I won’t go into the mathematics of why this happens, but I still remember it from my university days. You can just take it from me that it does happen!

The first Routemaster was a familiar red one. I very nearly got out my cameraphone just because it was a Routemaster, but by the time I thought about it, the bus was on the move.

Then I saw the second one, and it got held up by the traffic lights outside of Monument Station, so I grabbed my opportunity, and got myself a picture of a Routemaster in brown and silver livery. The signage says 75 years of London Transport and Bow Bus Garage Centenary. I would guess that the Bow Bus Garage had brown and silver as their colours!

(If you’re reading this and you can’t see the picture, click on the link to take you to the original post in Yahoo.)

Leave a Reply

 
