HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for April 09, 2008 – Pink Water Tower

Posted by HelenEdith on April 9, 2008

I was just packing up to leave the office this evening when I happened to glance out the window and see the water tower in the New Holland tractor plant coloured pink by the setting sun.

I had my new camera phone with me, so I took a couple of pictures through the office window.

The results definitely don’t even compare with what I can get out of my DSLR, but a camera phone is a lot lighter to carry around!

I just wish that Samsung had included a chapter in the manual about how to use the camera part of the phone. I’m sure that they assume that everybody is familiar with a point and click camera and automatically knows what all the symbols mean, but that’s just not the case for me. I really need to go out for a walk with the camera phone and learn how to use it.

Pictures taken in better lighting conditions would undoubtedly be better. I suspect that the camera used its maximum ISO to take this picture, judging by the noise in it, but I’ll never know, as the EXIF data attached to the JPEG didn’t include anything useful like the ISO or the shutter speed.

Anyway, I captured the moment for posterity, and if I ever have my DSLR handy when the water tower is bathed in pink light, maybe I’ll do better one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
