HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for January 05, 2008 – Delayed Christmas Dinner

Posted by HelenEdith on January 5, 2008

We were busy on New Year’s Day having our postponed Christmas dinner. Apart from Stephen not getting the living room tidied up and the table clear and Jessie electing to eat off a tray, things went pretty much to plan. Oh, and I overcooked the brussels sprouts, which therefore met with Stephen’s and Jessie’s approval. I prefer them more al dente myself and meant to fish mine out early, but got carried away carving the turkey.

When I collected Jessie, we drove by the house in Hayes Lane with the Christmas decorations, but the owner was up a ladder dismantling them, so we knew not to take Jessie home that way!

Instead, we drove through Orpington High Street and admired the lights there. Chislehurst High Street also had good lights this year, as did Royal Parade.

I photographed the Royal Parade lights during December, and I’ve picked one of the pictures from then to display.

We were busy on New Year’s Day having our postponed Christmas dinner. Apart from Stephen not getting the living room tidied up and the table clear and Jessie electing to eat off a tray, things went pretty much to plan. Oh, and I overcooked the brussels sprouts, which therefore met with Stephen’s and Jessie’s approval. I prefer them more al dente myself and meant to fish mine out early, but got carried away carving the turkey.

When I collected Jessie, we drove by the house in Hayes Lane with the Christmas decorations, but the owner was up a ladder dismantling them, so we knew not to take Jessie home that way!

Instead, we drove through Orpington High Street and admired the lights there. Chislehurst High Street also had good lights this year, as did Royal Parade.

I photographed the Royal Parade lights during December, and I’ve picked one of the pictures from then to display.

Leave a Reply

 
