HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for July 27, 2007 – TGIF

Posted by HelenEdith on July 27, 2007

I’m definitely in TGIF mode. I am so relieved to have made it through the week.

The week has been reasonably successful, I suppose. I’ve been working on data problems. They always seem to crop up near month-end, and they’re usually urgent. This week I had six different ones on the go.

On Monday, I’m going to work at home. After spending three hours on the Greenwich Park Bandstand on Sunday afternoon, I don’t think I’ll be up for a commute on Monday, so I’ve teed up home-working for the day.

And no, much of what I did this week couldn’t be described as “programming”. I did look at some programs to help me understand how the data came to be the way it was, but most of the time I was looking for patterns in data or comparing two sets for the odd man out in a reconciliation. I do enjoy work like that, but I could have done with not having to compress so many disparate database problems into a single week!

…and now it’s the weekend and I don’t have to worry about people’s Ledger problems for a whole two days! 😀

Today’s picture has nothing to do with data. The sailing ship is Stavros S Niarchos, a sailing training vessel who was paying a visit to London when I was up in town a couple of weeks ago. She (or should that be “He”) is a sister ship to Prince William, who has visited London during the last couple of years. Click here for some pictures I took of Prince William when that vessel visited London. You may notice that the two look very similar and appear to sport identical paint jobs.

Leave a Reply

 
