HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for July 12, 2007 – Tower Bridge Lift for “Balmoral”

Posted by HelenEdith on July 12, 2007

I don’t think that it’s possible to ever see Tower Bridge lifted too many times. Although I’ve lived in London for a long time and have seen that bridge lifted to allow passage for vessels ranging from small sailing yachts and Thames barges all the way up to cruise ships, if I’ve got a moment and the Bridge is going up, I’ll stop to watch.

Here is a picture that I took last night as Balmoral was approaching the Bridge to exit from the Upper Pool. I had to wait three quarters of an hour for this picture, as Balmoral didn’t adhere to her published schedule!

My memory card got cluttered up with quite a few other shots of Tower Bridge while I was waiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
