HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for June 03, 2007

Posted by HelenEdith on June 3, 2007

Today was a busy day. It started out with my occasional fix of culture, when I met the wind quintet for an hour and a half of playing.

Stephen went with me, and we went on from the wind quintet, which meets in Sutton Valence, to the Kent County Showgrounds in Detling, where there was a Truckfest. We saw some beautiful trucks – including one where they had to take their shoes off before they got in! (It had pale cream leather trim – even on the floor.)

I saw a Morris Commercial in the classic section, but it was a 1959 model and wasn’t the same as our old farm truck. I got talking with a driver who was looking after a pair of Kenworth heavy recovery vehicles, and had a really interesting conversation. All Kenworths come out of the factory left hand drive and the owner of the heavy recovery vehicles keeps them left hand drive so that his operators get out on the side away from traffic when doing a recovery. That way, if anything strays too close, it’s the vehicle which gets hit and not the operator.

The pictures from Truckfest are still on one of my SD cards, so you won’t see one in today’s blog entry.

We made a side trip on the way home and stopped off at Hall Place. As we finally got some sunshine this weekend, I wanted to try out my Cokin P007 infrared filter. As indicated in a magazine article I read recently, the 6MP Pentax *ist DS produced an infrared image more readily than the newer 10MP Pentax K10D. I did get it to produce something, but haven’t looked at it properly yet. I’ve looked at what came out the Pentax *ist DS and today’s picture is a “false colour” picture of a willow tree at Hall Place. It’s made up from a straight colour image and an infrared image and simulates the effect of Ektachrome colour infrared slide film.

Leave a Reply

 
