HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for April 27, 2007

Posted by HelenEdith on April 27, 2007

Today was a day best forgotten. I struggled into the office despite the tail end of a migraine – and gave myself a couple of frights on the roads while doing so. I did manage to resolve a couple of problems I was working on in the office, but don’t feel it was the best day’s work I’ve ever done.

Then came the nightmare of getting home again. The M25 had suffered a spate of accidents and there was congestion between J29, where I usually join to come home, and the QEII Bridge. As the A13 appeared to be reasonably clear, I braved the many roundabouts in Basildon and did the Essex leg of my homeward journey that way instead of using the A127, which is much easier to access from the Festival Business Park. I joined crawling traffic at J30, and crawled over the Bridge.

Then I chose to stay in one of the left lanes and left the M25 at J2 and came up the A2 and past Hall Place in Bexley, which is today’s picture. I got quite a good run that way, but saw a lot of traffic travelling the other way: no doubt refugees from the anti-clockwise closure of the M25 between J3 and J2. Stephen was coming home from the other side of Orpington, and he got caught up in some of that traffic and took over an hour to cover 15 miles. It seemed to have spilled onto every imaginable minor road.

The other notable thing about today was the death of the cellist and conductor Mstislav Rostropovich. You can read the BBC’s obituary here. All in all, not a good day.

Leave a Reply

 
