HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Time to update the look

Posted by HelenEdith on March 2, 2014

My hair went a while between trims last year and had enough length to be styled into a bob. At the time, I said to the hairdresser that I thought the bob would only survive two trims. It looked good, but it was more effort to keep it looking nice as it needed more blowdryer time. It didn’t often get it, so I just ended up with short curly hair most of the time – and latterly, due to a delay in visiting the hairdresser – not quite so short curly hair. Then a couple of weeks ago I was in a rush and didn’t even put any coloured mousse in it. It turns out that my natural colour is a rather pretty misty grey:

Self - natural hair colour - before haircut

Self – natural hair colour – before haircut

However, it’s also a rather ageing misty grey; and every time the wind blows, those fine ends find their way into every orifice in my face. So today I visited the hairdresser and went back to really short hair; and while she was about it, she put in some coloured mousse:

Self - copper hair mousse - after haircut

Self – copper hair mousse – after haircut

The hairdresser was pretty pleased with her handiwork and so was I. When Stephen got home, he noticed the ‘do’ straight away; and said that it took ten years off my age. I’ve put these two pictures up on FaceBook and I’m getting a gratifying number of ‘likes’ on the ‘After’ picture. I think that was money well spent.

2 Responses to “Time to update the look”

  1. Nigel Rees said

    I considered a not dissimilar change myself, but (a) my name’s not Bob and (b) the transparent hair-dye that must magically have been applied without my attending a barber’s shop seems to have remained effective for years!

    (You look good, Helen)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

