HelenEdith's Blog

The minutiae of my life, plus website updates and book reviews

Entry for June 02, 2007

Posted by HelenEdith on June 2, 2007

Today we went to the Biggin Hill Air Fair. More precisely, we went for the afternoon!

In fact, the afternoon turned out to be long enough, as I was sunburnt and footsore after 4 hours. The picture is of part of the Red Arrows display team.

Tomorrow (unless I have a Truckfest picture instead) I might post what happened when a whirlwind touched down among the exhibitor tents. I saw an RAC umbrella way up in the sky and was surprised that the display didn’t have to be suspended until it came down again. Two exhibitor marquees were completely demolished and simply took off. Fortunately they didn’t go far and nobody appeared to be hurt. Harris Hospis Care managed to hold onto their marquee – literally!

This was the first proper outing for our new 10 megapixel DSLRs, jointly owned by us and the finance company. 🙂 Mine is an upgrade to a newer Pentax model and works much the same as the one I know and love, although it does have a lot of extra buttons and dials. Some are really convenient! It’s also heavier than the Pentax *ist DS and I’m rather glad I didn’t spend the extra on a battery grip as I found it was quite heavy enough with my Sigma 28-300 mounted on front without adding on a battery grip.

I’ve taken Monday off to recover from my weekend 🙂 and if I don’t spend all day on recovering, I’ll try and get a few Biggin Hill pictures onto my website then.

Leave a comment